Sunday Snowstorm on Plateau

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunday Snowstorm on Plateau

We were back in action on Sunday. This time I was with my most regular hiking partner. Last week on Hunter mountain, I was with a different friend. When we came home and sent him some pics, he knew he missed out on a good hike with snowfall. This past Monday he asked me to please make it snow for the upcoming Sunday, as we knew we were going. Lets just say, I delivered….

When we see a Winter Storm Warning on the news, we hop in the car and drive towards the storm, not away from it. Lol.

Plateau from Notch Inn Rd….Out and back. Saw no one all day except 2 locals walking their dog on Notch Inn Rd.

Saw some animal tracks half way up which I thought were bobcat. Or coyote. Or fox? I’m no expert, but we leaned towards bobcat. Funny thing was I was just mentioning how like 6 years ago I saw tracks and thought they were bobcat on the same hike, and then within a minute, we saw the tracks.

A nice route I did some years ago in deep snow….Sunday, was bare boots to the top. We had a beer each up there with some food. A swig or two of some spirits. That’s when it started to snow hard. We were up top from 1230-130. We had our down jackets on, heavy gloves and balaclavas. It was in the teens up there. We had our little picnic in a snowstorm with our crackers, cheese, and meats cut up right on the ground in the middle of the trail. Every piece of Italian dry salami I ate, was covered with fresh snow.

We cleaned up and slapped Hillsounds on. It was collecting fast and descent would be slippery. These flakes early on were very small and it was blustery up there. Snow was beginning to blow in our faces. I had my balaclava up to my eyes with hood up.

Last Sunday on Hunter, the snowflakes were fatter, it was less windy and the temps were balmier.