X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Haystack, Basin, Saddleback, for the win 8/5/2019

The End.

This was it, and I knew it.

Today I would be a 46er or it would have to wait another year. I kept telling myself that any pressure I was feeling was completely artificial. “So what if you don’t do it today? The mountains aren’t going anywhere,” but as I stepped out into the blue-gray of dawn, a little part of me knew that there was no mind game I was going to play on myself today that was going to work.
    Six years ago, when I started this adventure, I had promised myself that I would be a 46er by the time I turned 40, and now 40 was only two weeks away. Even closer than that were the first whistles of football camp (I’m a High School Coach), and while they usher in all the excitement of a new season on the grid iron they also usher out my climbing season. So today was the day. “Last chance to dance this year,” I thought to myself as I threw my pack in the trunk, “let’s make it a good one.” And with that I pulled out of the hotel parking lot in Lake George at around 5:20AM, headed for Marcy Field and the relative uncertainty of the Garden shuttle.

About 40 minutes later I was cruising west on 73 just east of Round Pond. The old school hip-hop station that had been crushing it for just about the entire drive had just begun to lose its grip on the satellites when I saw something so seemingly out of place that I initially couldn’t wrap my brain around what I was looking at.
    There was a spray of black dirt and debris in a long strait diagonal line from the eastbound shoulder to the westbound guardrail, and there against the guardrail was a twisted heap of white metal. My brain initially called out, “refrigerator,” and then reformulated to, “pick-up truck,” when it realized that the large vertical rectangle I was staring at was actually the tailgate of a large pickup truck lying flat on it’s driver side.