Overnight suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overnight suggestions

I'm new to hiking in the Adirondacks, and planning on a trip in late July. Likely we'll drive there Saturday and stay somewhere front country. I would like to then do a one night overnight Sunday to Monday in either the High Peaks Wilderness or nearby (open to Dix Mountain and Pharaoh Lake areas too). Looking for great views and/or waterfalls.

There are three of us and we are all pretty experienced backpackers, however two of us have knee issues that are exacerbated by downhills. I would say we are looking for a MAX of 10 miles per day, but likely less if we're doing a lot of elevation. Some elevation is definitely great, but preference for climbing one day and descending the second day.

Climbing one day and descending the next...there is no camping above a certain elevation, so I’m not sure if you can plan a trip like that.

You could hike in to Marcy Dam, which is a popular camping area. Hike to Indian Falls and hit Phelps, Tabletop or Marcy, the latter being the longest hike but the best views of the three.

Comment

Originally posted by Not_Built_For_Speed View Post
      Climbing one day and descending the next...there is no camping above a certain elevation, so I’m not sure if you can plan a trip like that.

You could hike in to Marcy Dam, which is a popular camping area. Hike to Indian Falls and hit Phelps, Tabletop or Marcy, the latter being the longest hike but the best views of the three.
      Got it. I understand you can't camp above 4,000 feet, but are there no campsites along the way up any of the peaks at all?

Comment

Well there are many other places to check out. The AllTrails App may not be great for navigation, but it is good for trip planning. It shows campsites, elevation, etc.

Comment