No announcement yet.

OpenStreetMap - crowd-sourced mapping.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OpenStreetMap - crowd-sourced mapping.

OpenStreetMap.org allows the general public to modify its maps. You can login and add/subtract features like roads, trails, buildings, property lines, etc. Google Maps has a similar capability but it's a blank slate when it comes to High Peaks trails. On the other hand, owing to the input of a few individuals, OpenStreetMap has an extensive set of trails. In fact, I've noticed other online maps (like Caltopo) have inherited trails from OpenStreetMap.

I'm still a newbie so I've only made a few baby steps. I labelled the Herbert Brook lean-to, the two Beaver Point lean-to's, the NYS DEC Lake Colden Interior Outpost, the Blueberry Horse Trail, and indicated the location of the designated campsite at the intersection of the Calkins Creek Truck Trail and Blueberry Horse Trail. I also corrected the routing of the Blueberry Horse Trail from the Seward trail-head to Calkins Truck Trail (although that change doesn't appear on the map yet).

If you have the time and inclination, I suggest you open an account and add information to the map for the benefit of others.

https://www.openstreetmap.org/#map=1...2408/-73.98028
    Looking for Views!

Some things that new mappers should no:
    1) don't copy from other maps, this includes trail conference maps, nat geo, and the high peaks foundation map. If you get permission to copy this data its a thing you will want to talk about on a mailing list before doing
    2) don't import data sets (e.g. dec, opr, etc) without getting community buy in first. Even when almost everything goes right it can still cause problems.