Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best map for the 46?

Hey,

i just wrapped up my ne67 in September. Going to continue working on the whites this winter but would like to get to the adks right now! What is your favorite map for the area? Where can I order it from? Is there one besides the natgeo map?

Thanks

Vin

The most authoritative paper High Peaks map is from the ADK Mountain Club: https://www.adk.org/product/trails-o...igh-peaks-map/

The most detailed and accurate digital version is OpenStreetMap (OSM) and its derivatives like Waymarked Trails and OpenTopoMap. If you're using a backcountry navigation app, it probably already includes OSM or some map based on OSM.

Full Disclosure: I've been updating the High Peaks portion of OSM since May 2016 so that's why I feel comfortable vouching for its accuracy.
    Looking for Views!

Comment

The Adriondack Mountain Club map and the Adriondack Mountain Club guide can be found here.

Nice thing about the ADK map is that it shows campsites. Which is obviously helpful when camping, but also if you're trying to reduce your footprint by avoiding pooping in the woods.

P.S. I'm confused. Description of the ADK map says it corresponds to the ADK guide. But the description of the ADK guide says it corresponds to the NatGeo map. And the bundle includes the ADK guide with the NatGeo map??

Comment

Yes the Guide/Map Combo includes the NatGeo map. You must purchase the Guide and ADK map separately if you only want the ADK map. Go figure...probably a marketing/contractual agreement with NatGeo.

Comment

• sendtomaz
          sendtomaz commented
          Editing a comment
          The ADK map description says it corresponds to the ADK guide. The ADK guide description says it corresponds to the NatGeo map. Which is the best map to purchase as a companion to the guide?

The ADK map is the one to get. The Nat Geo map is better than it used to be, but still not as good as the ADK map.