7-12 day hike in the Adirondack suggestions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 7-12 day hike in the Adirondack suggestions

I'm trying to plan a 7-12 day backpacking trip for the beginning of May. I've never done any hiking in the Adirondacks before however, and have never done a backpacking trip this long. Im looking for trail/route suggestions, but any general advice for longer trips would be appreciated. As for the trails, would definitely love to get above tree-line and hit some 4000-fters!

Well, the natural choice for an ADK backpacking trip of that length would be the NP trail. But it's a valley trail; no peaks.

Normal backpacking paces for the NP trail range from 6 to 14 days. One option for you might be to hike all or part of the NP trail south to north, and then turn off after Duck Hole, head over to Upper Works, and go in and bag a couple peaks at the end of the trip...

Comment

Welcome to the Forum!

Keep in mind that in the beginning of May many of the peaks could still have significant snow at higher elevations and you're going to be dealing with a lot of mud at lower elevations. The High Peaks area is probably not a place where I'd take vacation time to devote one to two weeks of backcountry living without having prior knowledge of the conditions you'll be dealing with. I agree with TCD that the Northville-Placid trail (northbound) will be your best option. If you decide to do this, I'd start checking this forum's sister site, http://www.adkforum.com/ for trail beta. There's a section over there devoted exclusively to that trail where people frequently post conditions and updates.
      My mind was wandering like the wild geese in the west.

Comment

Keep in mind that not all of the HighPeaks are above tree line

Comment

Welcome to the forum.