Forum Rules Statement of Purpose Membership Disclaimer Site History
Adkhighpeaks Foundation Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Wiki visit ADKForum.com

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

ADK Wildlife???

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ADK Wildlife???

So as I've proclaimed before I am new to hiking period. In my 25-30 hikes so far in the Adirondacks over a year and a half I've yet to run into any sort of wildlife. I've heard like one bird and that was recently, but thats it. I'll also add that I've never hiked in summer or fall. Only winter and early spring.

I'm planning on picking up the pace this year quite a bit and will be for the first time hitting the trails during our warm months. Where I'm headed with all this is...

Bears are obviously active during this time. Being basically an exclusive winter hiker has afforded me the luxury so far of never having to worry about such a thing. As summer comes its makes me wonder. What is truly out there? What's the largest bear I could potentially see/ run into? In my mind its always going to be "scariest situation imaginable." I've come to find that whats typically in my head from research is far from what something actually is when i get there and see it for myself. I've not heard much on the subject and am curious from folks who really know the area what the reality of it is.

I hope the question doesn't come off wrong. I'm not some city boy but I'm also not an expert woodsman and I really never thought of hiking for the wildlife aspect. I'm there for the challenge on the way to views. If I run into any wildlife, thats really awesome but it's not my priority at all. My priority is to make it up and back safely. I don't think I can add any bear duty to that. Haha. 🐻

If anyone has any stories, tips, yarns, tales, legends, myths, yadda yadda you would care to share, I'd love to read. Thanks