Beginner Winter Slide Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner Winter Slide Questions

I am wondering if anyone might have some suggestions for slides that can be skinned up and descended with a splitboard which don't generally require technical ice climbing, rope, harness, or protection. I realize that conditions will be a big factor in this, and I always carry an axe and crampons, but would prefer to explore slides that are relatively easy to approach in touring mode (ski) mode with the splitboard, and which have better chances of being skinned up. I have my eyes on Benny's Brook and the Wright/Angel slides, but any other suggestions? Also, any information on how conditions are now on said slides.

Some background about me that might better help answer my question......
    I am working on my winter 46 and also recently got a splitboard set up. I am an expert snowboarder but amateur tour/xc/backcountry skier. I have a good knowledge of ADK backcountry and basic avy knowledge. I was able to get out and "get my feet wet" on some slides last year to get a feel for the approach and ascent with the splitboard set up. I skinned up and rode down the new ore bed slide on Saddleback ("back in the saddle"?) and also the slides that bisect the highway on Whiteface (slide #7?).

Thank you in advance for any information, I am always amazed at the talent and adventures that appear on these forums from many of the "Vets"

46er #6671w +1
    46W 46/46
    NH 4K 31/48
    NE111 83/115

"Beware the fury of a patient man."

I think you are right on the money having bennies brook at the top of your list. I think we still need some more snow for better coverage to ride/ski. Any day now.
    You can skin all the way to the top and ride down no problem with good conditions. Also check out adkbcski.com website for conditions. Go get some and report back.
    The greatest precept is continual awareness.

Comment